Elgin Heritage Park is a unique treasure on the banks of the Nicomekl River. The land was pre-empted by John Hardy in the 1880s and then settled by John Stewart who built the fine Victorian farmhouse in 1894. For over five decades the Stewart family operated a thriving hay farm and helped to build the local school, church, community hall and river dykes of the historic community of Elgin.
The forested area between the two entrances to the park has many large trees often used by eagles and hawks to survey the surrounding area for prey. The habitat functions of the marsh significantly contribute to the ecological value of the lower Nicomekl River. The area supports fish and other wildlife and is used for nesting by small perching birds and waterfowl.
Waterfowl and shorebirds are sensitive to disturbance. Please stay on trails and keep dogs on leash. Obey signage. Be aware of golfers while utilizing the walkway along the dyke through the golf course.
Trail Round Trip:
Approximately 3.25 km. Allow 1 hour.
How to Get There:
Take King George Highway south and turn west onto Crescent Road. The park is on the right just past 140 Street and the Nico-Wynd Golf Course entrance. A second entrance is farther west along Crescent Road and offers additional parking.