Skip navigation

2017 Surrey City Awards Winners & Finalists

October 27, 2017

Surrey – The City of Surrey presented City Awards to deserving individuals, groups, and businesses at the City Awards. The City Awards are part of the City’s ongoing commitment to programs and initiatives that support the City’s vibrant communities, promote modern urban development, protect and enhance the environment, support community engagement, encourage support tourism, and celebrate our heritage.

“I am honored to recognize the many outstanding community leaders that consistently deliver remarkable projects in our city,” said Mayor Linda Hepner. “These outstanding achievements are a testament of the pride our citizen’s take in our City. Their contributions help to make Surrey the vibrant metropolitan centre that it is and help foster our culture of excellence. Congratulations to all award recipients and finalists.”

This year's City Awards recognizes achievements in seven categories: Green City, Beautiful City, Clean Energy, Heritage in the City, Heart in the City, New City Design, and Sport in the City. The award recipients and finalists are as follows:

Beautiful City Award: Outstanding contributions in neighbourhood enhancement

Award Recipient: The Plot Sharing Garden
Finalist: Gratitude Garden – Adrian Bilodeau

Clean Energy City Award: Innovation in energy conservation & efficiency

Business Category

Award Recipient: Fortis BC

Community Category

Award Recipient: Empower Me

Green City Award: Environmental leaders who take action & inspire

Business Category:

Award Recipient: London Drugs                
Finalist: John Pickard – Pro Tree Services
Finalist: TD Bank Group – Friends of the Environment Foundation          

Community Category:

Award Recipient: White Rock and Surrey Naturalists

Individual Category:

Award Recipient: Wendy Hilbers & Ralph Go

Heart in the City Award: Selfless acts of community spirit

Group Category:

Award Recipient: New Hope Community Services Society
Award Recipient: Muslim Food Bank and Aspire Community Services

Individual Category

Award Recipient: Alex Martel
Award Recipient: Douglas Nickerson
Finalist: Kalwinder Dosanjh, Kids Play Youth Foundation
Finalist: Shawna Narayan, Empower the Future
Finalist: Kathleen Burke, Community Leaders Igniting Change
Finalist: Ihab Habob, Muslim Canadians Integration Society

Lifetime Achievement

Award Recipient: Marilyn Hermann

Heritage Award: Excellence in heritage preservation, interpretation and promotion

Preservation Category

Award Recipient: Sunnyside Acres Heritage Society

Education and Interpretation

Award Recipient: Surrey Historical Society

NewCity Design Award: Excellence in urban design & city building

Residential Small Scale

Award Recipient: Ciccozzi Architecture Inc. – Hyde Park Townhomes
Finalist: Integra Architecture Inc – Brixton Townhomes

Residential Medium Scale

Award Recipient: Rositch Hemphill Architects – Elgin Townhomes
Finalist: DYS Architecture - Rising Sun Villas

Residential Large Scale

Award Recipient: IBI Group Architects (Canada) Inc. – The Wave Tower


Award Recipient: Musson Cattel Partnership – Coast Capital Savings
Finalist: Lovick Scott Architects – Cloverdale Gateway Office Building


Award Recipient: Bing Thom Architects – Guildford Aquatic Centre
Finalist: Taylor Kurts Architecture + Design Inc. – Surrey Operations Centre


Award Recipient: Taylor Kurtz Architecture + Design – Surrey Operations Centre
Finalist: Bing Thom Architects – Guildford Aquatic Centre

Overall Design

Award Recipient: HCMA Architecture + Design - Grandview Heights

Sport Tourism in the City Award: Excellence in hosting of a sport event or tournament in Surrey

Regional or Provincial Event

Award Recipient: Canucks Autism Network
Finalist: Quidditch Canada – Western Regional Championship

National or International Event

Award Recipient: 2016 Women’s World Softball Organizing Committee
Finalist: Vancouver White Caps FC – White Caps Showcase
Finalist: E11even Management – SX International Tournament


Award recipients were recognized by Mayor and Council at a reception held at Surrey City Hall on October 25, 2017.

Full details on the award recipients and finalists are available at




For Program Information:                            

Kerri Van Eaton                                            
Support Services Manager                                                                                                                                   
Parks, Recreation and Culture
City of Surrey

Media inquiries:

Oliver Lum                                         
Communications Manager          
Office of the Mayor                       
City of Surrey