Skip navigation

Ethics Commissioner Selection Committee

In early 2019, Surrey Council unanimously adopted a motion to consider additional accountability measures in the form of introducing an independent Ethics Commissioner. On June 10, 2019 a motion was passed to establish an independent Ethics Commissioner making Surrey the first municipality in British Columbia to do so. An “Ethics Commissioner Selection Committee” (ECSC) has been established to assist with the search and selection of an ethics commissioner. 

For more information, review the "Ethics Commissioner Establishment Bylaw, 2020, No. 20018", which creates the position of Ethics Commissioner and establishes the Terms of Reference for an Ethics Commissioner Selection Committee.

Council Representative Members: Councillor Elford and Councillor Guerra

For questions regarding the Ethics Commissioner Selection Committee, please contact the City Clerk's office at 604-591-4132 or email: