

Public Safety Committee Minutes

Executive Boardroom City Hall 14245 - 56 Avenue Surrey, B.C. THURSDAY, APRIL 28, 2011

Time: 8:35 am File: 0540-20

Chair:

Councillor Steele

Present:

Mayor Watts
Councillor Bose
Councillor Hepner
Councillor Hunt
Councillor Martin
Councillor Villeneuve

Absent:

Councillor Gill Councillor Rasode **Staff Present:**

City Manager
Chief Superintendent MacRae, Surrey RCMP
City Solicitor
Fire Chief
Deputy City Manager
Senior By-Law Enforcement Officer
Deputy City Clerk
Crime Reduction Strategy Manager

- A. ADOPTION OF MINUTES
- B. DELEGATIONS
- C. OUTSTANDING BUSINESS
- D. NEW BUSINESS
- E. ITEMS REFERRED BY COUNCIL
- F. CORRESPONDENCE
- G. INFORMATION ITEMS
- H. OTHER BUSINESS
- I. NEXT MEETING

The next Public Safety Committee meeting is at the call of the Chair.

H. OTHER BUSINESS (continued)

1. MOTION TO HOLD A MEETING IN A CLOSED SESSION

It is in order for Public Safety Committee members to pass a resolution to closed the meeting to the public pursuant to Section 90 (1)(f) and (i) of the *Community Charter*, which states:

"A part of a council meeting may be closed to the public if the subject matter being considered relates to or is one or more of the following:

- (f) law enforcement, if the council considers that disclosure could reasonably be expected to harm the conduct of an investigation under or enforcement of an enactment; and,
- (i) the receipt of advice that is subject to solicitor-client privilege, including communications necessary for that purpose.

It was

Moved by Mayor Watts Seconded by Councillor Hunt

That a Closed Public Safety Committee Meeting be now held at City Hall, 14245 – 56 Avenue, Surrey, B.C. in the Executive Boardroom on **Thursday**, **April 28**th pursuant to Section 90 (1)(f) and (i) of the *Community Charter*.

J. ADJOURNMENT

It was

Moved by Councillor Hunt Seconded by Councillor Hepner That the Public Safety Committee meeting

do now adjourn.

Carried

The Public Safety Committee adjourned at 8:35 am.

Claudia Jesson, Deputy City Clerk

Barbara Steele, Chairperson